Arms Proliferation

The arms proliferation cluster aims to promote innovative, cooperative and rule-of-law-based responses to the uncontrolled accumulation and spread of all categories of weapons, from small arms and light weapons (SALW) to weapons of mass destruction (WMD) because of the humanitarian and strategically destabilising consequences of this phenomenon. 

In particular, the cluster seeks to offer novel solutions to this longstanding and complex issue, taking into account the interrelationships with other emerging security challenges (terrorism, organised crime and regional conflicts, notably).

The cluster meets these goals by engaging on three fronts:

  1. The introduction of knowledge on up-to-date current geopolitical, technological and legal developments into responses to demand for advice, education and dialogue from and among key stakeholders. This is done, for instance, by building capacities worldwide on implementing the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) or the Biological Weapons Convention.
  2. The development of partnerships with, and a high visibility among, key stakeholders (government representatives, both in Geneva and in capitals, civil society organisations, academia) to promote cross-institutional and multi-stakeholder approaches. In that respect, the ATT Network was initiated as an inclusive platform to promote universalisation and implementation of the ATT, and Track-II meetings were held on a WMD-free Zone in the Middle East.
  3. The anticipation of potential developments, especially in connection to related fields (such as violent extremism, transnational organised crime, technological innovation, strategic foresight, etc.).

Related Related experts

Prof. François Heisbourg
Former Chairman of the Foundation Council
Prof. François Heisbourg
Former Chairman of the Foundation Council
Mr Antoine Hanin
Security Sector Reform Officer - DECAF/ISSAT
Dr Anna Alvazzi del Frate
Director of Programmes, Small Arms Survey
Dr Bong-Geun Jun
Professor and Director General at the Department of Security and Unification Studies at the Korean National Diplomatic Academy
Mr Ben Baseley-Walker
Senior Director for Global Engagement, EMEA, Planetary Resources
Professor Andreas Wenger
Prof. Andreas Wenger
Professor, International and Swiss Security Policy, ETH Zurich; Director, Center for Security Studies (CSS)
Ms Angela Kane
Ms Angela Kane
Former High Representative for Disarmament Affairs, United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs; Senior Fellow, Vienna Centre for Non-Proliferation and Disarmament
Prof. Adam Daniel Rotfeld
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland
Stephen Del Rosso
Mr Stephen Del Rosso
Program Director, International Peace and Security, Carnegie Corporation of New York
Robert Litwak
Dr Robert Litwak
Vice President for Scholars, Director of International Security Studies, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
Aaron Stein
Mr Aaron Stein
Former Doctoral Fellow, Geneva Centre for Security Policy; Associate Fellow, Royal United Services Institute (RUSI)
Dr Waheguru Pal Singh SIDHU
Dr Waheguru Pal Singh Sidhu
Non-Resident Senior Fellow, Brookings India
Dr Dmitri V. TRENIN
Dr Dmitri V. Trenin
Director, Carnegie Moscow Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Col. (GS) Stefan C.P. Hinz
Senior Programme Advisor, Regional Perspectives Programme
Professor Shahram Chubin
Prof. Shahram Chubin
Non-Resident Senior Associate, Nuclear Policy Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Mr Aapo Cederberg
CEO and Co-founder of Cyberwatch Finland
Amb. Dr Sameh Aboul-Enein
Amb. Dr Sameh Aboul-Enein
Deputy Foreign Minister and Director of the Egyptian Diplomatic Academy
Prof. David Heymann
Head and Senior Fellow, Centre on Global Health Security, Chatham House; Chairman, Public Health England
Catherine KELLEHER
Prof. Catherine Kelleher
College Park Professor, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland
Mr Marc Finaud
Senior Programme Advisor, Emerging Security Challenges Programme; Arms Proliferation Cluster Leader